Alison Fell

Alison Fell

Award-winning poet, short story writer and novelist. Alison has also written for the stage, radio and television. Among a variety of such posts held over the years, she has been a Writing Fellow at the University of East Anglia, a Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow at University College London and a Professor of Creative Writing at Southampton University.

The Element -inth in Greek

Sandstone Press, 2012. 488 pp

Greece: Livanis

Buy from Amazon

Lightyear – poems, with photographs by Ivan Coleman

Smokestack Books, 2005. 97 pp

Buy from Smokestack Books

Tricks of the Light

Doubleday, 2003; Black Swan, 2004. 443 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Mistress of Lilliput

Doubleday, 1999; Anchor 2000. 351 pp

Netherlands: Van Gennep

Turkey: Ayrinti Yayinlari

Buy from Amazon

The Seven Deadly Sins – anthology of short stories edited by Alison Fell, with drawings by Amanda Faulkner

Kathy Acker is Lust, Leslie Dick is Envy, Zoë Fairburns is Covetness, Alison Fell is Sloth, Sara Maitland is Gluttony, Agnes Owens is Pride, Michèle Roberts is Anger

Serpent’s Tail, 1998. 226 pp

Buy from Amazon

Dreams, like Heretics – new and selected poems

Serpent’s Tail, 1997. 135 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Pillow Boy of the Lady Onogoro

Serpent’s Tail, 1994. 247 pp

Czech Republic: Nase Vojsko – France: Calmann-Levy – Germany: Rowohlt – Hungary: Szukits

Netherlands: van Gennep – Spain: Muchnik – Italy: Bompiani – Turkey: Ayrinti Yayinlari – USA: Harcourt Brace

Buy from Amazon

Serious Hysterics – anthology of short stories edited by Alison Fell

with Leslie Dick, Zoë Fairburns, Alison Fell, Nicole Ward Jouve, Marsha Rowe, Gail Scott, Lynne Tillman, Marina Warner

Serpent’s Tail, 1992. 215 pp

Buy from Amazon

Mer de Glace

Methuen, 1991; Serpent’s Tail, 1992. 249 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Seven Cardinal Virtues – anthology of short stories edited by Alison Fell, with illustrations by Griselda Holderness

Kathy Acker is Humility, Leslie Dick is Generosity, Zoë Fairburns is Fortitude, Alison Fell is Chastity, Sara Maitland is Justice, Agnes Owens is Patience, Michèle Roberts is Charity

Serpent’s Tail, 1990. 208 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Crystal Owl – poems

Methuen, 1988. 89 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Bad Box

Virago, 1987. 167 pp

Buy from Amazon

Kisses for Mayakovsky – poems

Virago, 1987. 64 pp

Winner of the Alice Hunt Bartlett Award

Buy from Amazon

Every Move You Make

Virago, 1984. 283 pp

Buy from Amazon

The Grey Dancer

Collins, 1981; Fontana Lions, 1982. 89 pp

Buy from Amazon